Friday, September 21, 2007

Saudi Arabia joins UN atomic agency board

from AFP

Saudi Arabia and other US allies were among 11 countries named to the UN watchdog International Atomic Energy Agency's 35-nation board of governors on Thursday. This could make things easier for the United States on the IAEA board, which rules on Iranian compliance with the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), diplomats said. The United States is worried the deal could help Iran avoid new UN Security Council sanctions for its refusal to stop enriching uranium, a process that makes nuclear power reactor fuel but also atom bomb material. Its members are Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, Russian, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand and the United States.

No comments: